Dexys Midnight Runners – ‘Searching For The Young Soul Rebels’

A life in music No.10 – 1980

Dexys Midnight Runners – ‘Searching For The Young Soul Rebels’

When Searching For The Young Soul Rebels was released in the summer of 1980 the UK singles chart was littered with funk and disco; the golden age of both had had their day, but the likes of Chic, Diana Ross, Gibson Brothers, Detroit Spinners, Brothers Johnson and Odyssey were still hugely popular. Soul, however, was a far more distant memory. Not since the heyday of Motown had authentic soul acts really bothered the Top 40. Funk and disco were hanging in, ska and mod was in the middle of a massive revival and then along came Dexys Midnight Runners, bringing with them a new soul vision.

To me, a 14-year old who was soaking up anything and everything, soul was something I’d just dipped my toe into when ‘Geno’ stormed to No.1 in early 1980. I loved it, the passion, the image, the brass and in particular Kevin Rowland’s uncomfortable, blue-collar cool. ‘There There My Dear’ was equally magnetic, teaching me valuable lessons I’d never learn in the classroom. “If you’re so anti-fashion why not wear flares instead of dressing down all the same”. Soon (not soon enough) I’d be wearing nothing but second hand clobber. I went to work in a ‘trendy’ menswear emporium, but a few of us only laughed at those who simply, stupidly, blindly followed fashion. It was bands like Dexys who taught me to think for myself.

Searching For The Young Soul Rebels had so much to say, politically, culturally and from it’s opening minute of radio hiss and snippets of The Sex Pistols, The Specials and Deep Purple I devoured it as if my life depended on it, which at the time it pretty much did. Amongst blaring brass and cool keyboard stabs Rowland’s voice was brilliantly painful; harrowing, pleading, so different from what the charts were (by the time this album had its wicked way with me in 1981) becoming – a synthetic, soulless, new romantic upchuck. Whilst their hit singles were upbeat and immediate the album’s slower tracks are those that really reach the soul. ‘The Teams That Meet In The Caffs’, ‘’I’m Just Looking’, ‘I Couldn’t Help It If I Tried’ and in particular the brilliantly scornful ‘Keep It’.

For me the album was a springboard to soul and all manner of social references, but more than that it was a genuine inspiration and the more I listened the more I felt enlightened. That said, to love it and believe in it as I did was further evidence of not just a love of music, but an appreciation and acceptance of the fact that music was moulding my life, asking me as many questions as it was giving me answers. Soon I would be gorging on soul as part of an unrelenting 60s binge, but for now Dexys Midnight Runners were – much as Geno Washington was to Kevin Rowland – a perfect inspiration.

1972: Theme To Robinson Crusoe
1973: Sweet – ‘Blockbuster’
1977: E.L.O – ‘Out Of The Blue’
1978: Blondie – ‘Picture This’
1979: Squeeze – ‘Cool For Cats’
1979: Madness – ‘One Step Beyond’
1979: The Specials – ‘The Specials’
1980: The Beat – ‘I Just Can’t Stop It’
1980: The Jam – ‘Going Underground’
1980: Dexys Midnight Runners – ‘Searching For The Young Soul Rebels’

Dexys - Young Soul Rebels

One thought on “Dexys Midnight Runners – ‘Searching For The Young Soul Rebels’

  1. Pingback: Tales from the potting shed (in a hollywood style) | Weeds up to me knees

Leave a Reply

