My vasectomy experience – part 2

It’s been a week since I had my vasectomy, commonly called ‘the snip’. The snip sounds so, um, delicate doesn’t it? Like something you’d do when needle-working or scissoring a loose thread from a pullover. Testicular surgery should be called ‘the vice’ or ‘the chop’, surely. Reading back on my first snip blog it actually sounds a little dramatic, when in fact apart from an unexpected amount of blood leakage immediately after the operation, it all went rather swimmingly. Much as I would like to tell tales of testicular trials and tribulations (only to make this a more interesting read), I have to say the last seven days have also been – as far as post vasectomy recovery goes – all rather routine.

I would suggest the (so far) smoothness of my recovery has been largely down to me being able to rest, and look after my poor plums. Of great help has been being able to work from home for most of the week, and my darling wife who has taken on my share of the housework and basically fetched and carried for me all week. Now I could’ve carried on lifting, carrying and walking around as normal from the time I retuned home last Saturday. But all the advice available suggests rest, at least for a few days. Anyway, your bollocks are telling you to rest, as when they’re subjected to gravity or ‘rub’, it’s all – in my case for the first five or six days – a bit of a ball-ache.

i-draw-balls

Some post-surgery information from the Male Health Center website: Only about 10 percent of men experience any sort of complication from a vasectomy, and these are usually minor. Of course, as is the case with any surgical procedure, there’s always a small risk for bleeding, infection, or allergic reaction to the anaesthetic, causing a rash. Complications specific to vasectomy include the possibility of a sperm granuloma, testicular pain, and epididymitis (inflammation of the vasectomy site). Also, in very rare instances, a man can lose a testicle. A sperm granuloma occurs if sperm leak from the vasectomy site or a rupture in the epididymis and provoke an inflammatory reaction. About a half-inch in diameter, they require further attention in only about two percent of men. About one percent of men experience aching testicles from congestion in the epididymis. This usually disappears within six months.

Personally, my balls were a tad blue within a couple of hours of surgery, and have become a little bluer since, extending upwards. As far as the pain goes over the last week I’d say it’s been mildly aggravating, on my pain level chart about a 3 at worst. Now, a week later and the discomfort has eased to the point where it’s barely noticeable. All a bit boring then. As I said, I put this largely down to resting as much as possible, wearing the supportiest pants possible, taking paracetomol whenever necessary and rotating iced bags of peas on the affected area, certainly for the first two or three days.

Funny monkey in huge testicles

So, it’s so far so good, but some of the potential complications may still occur (sperm granulomas especially), so further care and attention – clean hands, clean balls, no games of tennis or trampolining – is required for a wee while yet. Plus, of course, with at least four months until the ‘all clear’ there’s still a different need to be careful. So, men, my advice for the week after a vasectomy is legs up, ice and tight pants. Oh, and none of that macho bullshit about not needing any help or rest. Having a vasectomy is man enough.

2 thoughts on “My vasectomy experience – part 2

  1. Pingback: My vasectomy experience – part 3 | FOR WHAT IT'S WORTH

Leave a Reply

