Sweet – ‘Blockbuster’

A life in music No.2 – 1973

Sweet – ‘Blockbuster’

To make it clear, this ‘Musics’ list will not be a list of my favourite music, more a list of musical memories which have had an effect on me – music which, when I think back, had a dramatic change to the way I thought or behaved. Music which has inspired me. No doubt much of this will indeed be my favourite music. That said, I would not put ‘Blockbuster’ by Sweet in my all-time top 100. It may make my all-time top 1000 just for nostalgic reasons, but whilst it’s far from being shit its appeal to me is indeed, purely based on nostalgia.

the-sweet-blockbuster-rca

When this hit Top of the Pops I was 7 years old. Why did I like it so much? Well, it’s a bloody catchy tune, huh!? Easy to sing along to, perfect lyrics for a boy of my age (I seem to remember) but equally, if not more importantly for me (I also seem to remember) was the fact that I looked like the lead singer, Brian Connolly. Obviously I didn’t but my hair was exactly the same colour, which was enough. I think I first started really enjoying ‘pop’ music aged 7 and I think this was my first ever ‘favourite’ single; in fact I think Sweet were the first band I remember liking and just may have been my first favourite band.

Songs like ‘Wig-Wam-Bam’ and ‘Ballroom Blitz’ perfectly encapsulated the Glam-Rock era, which was, looking back, a little um… what’s the word for when something doesn’t date very well? Tasteless? Naff? Glam-Rock was massive for two or three years, but any music genre which has Gary Glitter as a cult-figure is immediately fighting a losing battle.

Slade and Mud were rivals for my first fave band, but there was something about Sweet (okay, it was his hair) which attached me to them. I remember watching this, and the sense of awe and excitement which resulted. It’s a rip-roaring Glam stomp which (looking back at old clips) rockers could dance to; shoulders bent forward with thumbs through their belt loops, or more flamboyant types would happily hang on to the hippy rock arms in the air move. I remember singing, not dancing. “Aaaaaaah, aaaaaaah. You better beware, you better take care, you better watch out if you’ve got long black hair!”

1972: Theme To Robinson Crusoe
1973: Sweet – ‘Blockbuster’

Leave a Reply

